Tuesday: Bringing in Focus for the Present

orangecandle

Hello everyone! Today is Tuesday and as part of my “get back into the swing of the universe” I’m starting daily mini blogs of intentions set for the day, using (as close as I can) the correspondences for that. I used to do it when I lived on my own and found my days tended to be more centered and magical, so I hope this helps you as well!

As an aside: I took this idea of ‘setting intentions for the day’ from my Yoga class. I thought it was such a lovely practice that I wanted to use it for my daily life as well. Having an intention to help set the tone of your day is helpful, I think! Now onward to the mini blog!

tuesdayalter1Day: Tuesday 

Planet: Mars

Colors: Red, Orange

Herbs/Oils: Patchouli, Dragons Blood, Basil

Influence: dynamic energy, matrimony, war, enemies, hunting, surgery, courage, politics, contests

Intent of the Day: Focus

Lately I’ve been having problems focusing on things. My future. My projects. Even just focusing on being in the moment! Sometimes we get so wrapped up thinking about the past or the future (like me!) that we don’t stop to appreciate the now. So today I decided to use the ‘dynamic energy’ of this day to do that! I lit  my orange candle, lighted my Dragons Blood incense, and anointed myself with the ‘Helping Hand’ oil blend I bought from The Eye of the Cat. I needed all the help I could I get with this!

Here is the little meditation I created! I hope it helps you as much as it did for me! It’s easy peasy because honestly? I really suck at hard core meditating. This is perfect for a ten minute breather! Enjoy!


Breath in deeply and fill your lungs with clean air(if you’re by a window like I was, this is easy!), imagine it rushing through your whole body and brightening it. Hold that breath for three seconds. When you hold your breath, build up any emotions you don’t need, any that aren’t serving your purpose, into that hold. Then exhale. Let those emotions leave your body with your breath. Anger, fear, worries….let it go with your exhale. Do this as many times as you need until you feel relatively calm.

Next, stare into your lighted candle for a moment and set your intention to Focus on the Present. Or whatever it is you need for that day. For this practice, it’s focus on the present. Stare into the light for a minute or two before closing your eyes. (don’t stare longer than 10 minutes!) Don’t worry about your breathing. Just keep yourself in the present.

If you’re like me when you close your eyes thoughts will drift by. Don’t worry, that’s okay! Let them have a place in your mind for a moment and then gently move them on. Today your intent is Focusing on being present. Experiencing the moment and joy of now. In this meditation its actually okay for you to be aware of things outside your body as well, because you’re focusing on the ‘now’. Feel your toes, feel the ground beneath you. you are here. You exist in this moment and place. You are part of the earth and the day and the time.

Think about that for a few minutes, then open your eyes. Do you feel ready to focus on your day and not let thoughts of the past distract you? Or the worries of the future rule you? No? Then you did great!

Today I felt more more in myself and in my head and grounded than I have in a few weeks! I can’t wait to see what tomorrows Intention will be!

Leave a Reply

